
If you wish to participate in providing advice to the Juvenile Court, 
you may apply to be a member of the Parents Advising the Court 

Committee (PACC).  Applications are available at the Juvenile Court 
reception desk or by telephoning (916) 876-7753. 

 
For more information,  visit the following 
web sites: 
 

Sacramento Superior Court 
  www.saccourt.com 

 
Sacramento County Probation Department 

www.probation.saccounty.net 
or call (916) 875-6996 

 
Superior Court of California, 

County of Sacramento 
Sitting as the Juvenile Court 

 
9605 Kiefer Boulevard 

Sacramento, CA  95827 
 

(916) 876-7753 

Superior Court of California, 
County of Sacramento 

Sitting as the Juvenile Court 

JUVENILE COURT: 
HOW IT WORKS 

08/05/05 



 
General Information  
 
1.  How do I get to Juvenile Court? 
 
The Juvenile Court Delinquency Division is located in the B.T. 
Collins Juvenile Center, 9605 Kiefer Boulevard, Sacramento.  
There is a Regional Transit (RT) bus stop on Branch Center 
Road, adjacent to the parking lot of the Juvenile Center.  
Directions from Highway 50: Exit Bradshaw Road and travel 
south for approximately one mile; turn right onto Kiefer  
Boulevard and then turn right onto Branch Center Road.   

 
2. Is there a dress code? 
 
Proper attire for a court appearance displays respect for the 
court and shows the court that you and your parent take this 
case seriously.  If you or your parent fail to observe the 
following dress code, that person will be REQUIRED TO GO 
HOME to change before your appearance in court (see Stand-
ing Order SSC-JV-05-056 on the Court’s Web site:  
www.saccourt.com). 
 
• Pants must not sag below the waist or be worn in such a 

manner that otherwise expose under garments. 
 
• Tank tops, strapless tops and other clothing revealing ex-

cessive skin shall not be worn. 
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The purposes of the delinquency court are to 
protect, to give guidance, and to punish 

 children who commit delinquent acts and to 
protect the community. 

10. Unsure of your next court date or what 
happens next? 

 
When you meet your assigned attorney, ask him/her for a 
business card with his/her phone number.  Contact your  
attorney when you have questions or information to provide.  
The Juvenile Public Defender Division can be reached by  
calling (916) 875-5077.  The Conflict Criminal Defender  
Coordinator  can be reached by calling (916) 875-5626 for court 
appointed cases where the Public Defender is not eligible to 
handle the case. 
 
11. Will my juvenile record be sealed? 
 
Most juvenile records are “confidential,” but are not  
automatically “sealed.”  Minimum qualifications for sealing a 
record include either being over the age of 18 or 5 years having 
passed since you were released from probation.  The decision 
to seal a juvenile court record is in the discretion of the court.  
Even for a person 18 or older, the court will usually require a 
showing of good behavior for at least two years after getting off 
probation.  Applications for the petition are available at Juvenile 
Court Reception.  The phone number is (916) 876-7753. 
 
12. Can my juvenile court record be used 

against me after I turn 18? 
 
Certain serious or violent felonies are “strikes” under the “three-
strikes law” if committed by a 16 or 17 year old.  Those 
felonies, if found true in Juvenile Court, must be used against 
you if you are ever arrested as an adult.  Such juvenile records 
are not confidential and can never be sealed. 
 
13.  Does Juvenile Hall allow visitors? 
 
Your parent(s) may call the Juvenile Hall at (916) 875-6996 for 
information about designated visiting hours in the Juvenile Hall. 
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8. What are possible dispositions of my case? 
 
A disposition is similar to a sentencing that occurs on adult 
criminal cases. 
 
A judge will decide whether you have committed acts you are 
accused of.  If the judge makes a “true finding,” or “sustains the 
petition” this means there is enough evidence for the judge to 
find beyond a reasonable doubt that you did commit acts. 
 
After a “true finding,” the judge will conduct a disposition 
hearing to decide the consequences of your acts.  Any of the 
following may occur: 
 
• You may remain at home on informal probation supervision 

for up to six months and could have the petition dismissed. 
• You may be made a ward of the juvenile court and placed 

on “formal” probation supervision for six months or up to 
your 21st birthday. 

• You may be placed on probation and ordered to live in a 
relative’s home, a private residential group home or an 
institutional program, like the Youth Center. 

• You may be placed on probation and ordered to reside at 
the Sacramento County Boys Ranch. 

• You may be committed to the California Department of Cor-
rections and Rehabilitation, Division of Juvenile Facilities 
(formally California Youth Authority). 

 
 
9. Will I be liable for financial obligations? 
 
If the charges are found true, parents and minors are both li-
able for restitution to the victim and a restitution fine.  Parents 
will also receive a bill reimbursing the County of Sacramento for 
the following court fees and costs:  attorney’s fees, probation 
department services provided to the minor (such as food and 
laundry) and foster care costs, if applicable. 
 

6 

• Shorts and mini skirts are not allowed. 
 
• Baseball hats, stocking caps or knit caps must not be worn 

in the courtroom. 
 
• Shirts, blouses or jackets cannot contain inappropriate 

writing or pictures, including references to violence, alcohol, 
drugs, or sexual matter. 

 
• For your own safety, avoid wearing clothing with 

predominant colors that could be interpreted by others as 
symbolizing gang association and displaying items, tattoos 
and symbols that are associated with gang activity.  

 
 
3.  What can I expect when I come to court? 
 
For your safety and the safety of others, the Sacramento 
Sheriff’s Department has a visible presence throughout the 
building.  Every person entering the building is required to walk 
through a metal detector in the presence of a Sacramento Dep-
uty Sheriff.  Personal items are screened through an x-ray ma-
chine. Please contact one of the officers on duty if you have 
any safety concerns. 
 
 
4. What behavior is expected of me? 
 
The following conduct is expected of you while at the 
Juvenile Center: 
 
• You must be accompanied and appear in court with a 

parent or a legal guardian. 
 
• Leave all metal items at home or in your vehicle. 

Attempting to enter the courthouse with such items in your 

3 



presence will slow you down at the metal detectors. 
Security officers will confiscate items or request that you 
remove the item from your person prior to entering the 
building. 
 

• Parents and out-of-custody minors must check in with 
Juvenile Court Reception located on the first floor at the 
time designated on the notice to appear. A “restaurant 
style” pager will be assigned to you and you will be in-
structed to sit in a designated area in close proximity to the 
court department where your hearing will be held. 

 
• Once your pager goes off, you must assemble in front of 

the court department where your case is assigned and re-
ceive further instruction by your attorney or probation offi-
cer.  The pager system has limited outdoor range, so you 
must keep Reception informed anytime that you exit and 
re-enter the building.  If you are not in the lobby when your 
case is paged, your matter may be passed until the end of 
the calendar. 

 
• Food and drink are not permitted inside the building. Food 

and drink must be consumed outside the building. Do not 
chew gum while in the courtroom. 

 
• It is unlawful for persons under the age of 18 to possess 

tobacco products. If you are found smoking or in 
possession of tobacco while at the Juvenile Center, you are 
subject to arrest. 

 
• Your parent should make every effort to arrange for child 

care for your younger brothers and sisters and not bring 
them to Court.  However, if necessary, Juvenile Court does 
have a designated child care area for younger children not 
involved in the court proceeding.  (Opening soon.) 

 
• Cellular phones, pagers and alarms must be turned off (or 

in vibrate mode) while you are in the courtroom. If they go 
off in the courtroom, they are subject to being confiscated. 
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5. Do I need an attorney? 
 
You have a right to be represented by an attorney. The 
Juvenile Court automatically appoints the Public Defender to 
represent you, unless you can afford to hire an attorney.  Your 
parent may hire an attorney to represent their separate 
concerns. The Court will generally not appoint an attorney for 
your parents. 
 
 
6. Can I get an interpreter? 
 
Interpreters are provided by the court.  Please call the Juvenile 
Court at (916) 876-7753 at least two days before your court 
appearance if you and/or your parents need an interpreter.  
Please confirm with Juvenile Court Reception at the time you 
check-in for court that an interpreter was ordered for your case. 
 
 
7. Are juvenile matters confidential? 
 
Most juvenile matters are confidential and personal information 
about you and the charges are not revealed to the general 
public.  Therefore, only one case is allowed in the courtroom at 
a time.  You will be expected to wait in the lobby until your case 
is called.  Please be patient with the court staff and your  
attorney.  The court staff is trained to assist you while 
 maintaining confidentiality.   
 
However, hearings concerning certain serious charges are 
open to the public.  Those hearings are not confidential. 
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Any comments or questions regarding the 
policies of Juvenile Court can be directed 

to the Administration by calling 
(916) 875-5686. 


