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NAME:       School District 

Child Welfare & Attendance 

MAILING ADDRESS:       

CITY, STATE AND ZIP CODE:      , CA  95      

TELEPHONE NO: (916)     

FOR COURT USE ONLY 

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SACRAMENTO 

MAILING ADDRESS: Juvenile Justice Courthouse 

STREET ADDRESS: 9506 Kiefer Blvd.  

CITY, STATE AND ZIP CODE: Sacramento, CA 95827 

BRANCH NAME: SITTING AS THE JUVENILE COURT 

PARENTS/GUARDIAN S’ NAMES:                                 DATES OF BIRTH: 
                                                                                              

CASE NUMBER:  

      

COMPLAINT AGAINST PARENT FOR 
FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH  

COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE LAWS 
[Education Code §§ 48292, 48293] 

DEPARTMENT: 

      

 
 
Pursuant to Education Code section 48292, the Attendance Supervisor of the      School District, upon 
information and belief, complains against the above named defendant(s) for the crime of Education Code 
section 48293(a) as follows: 
  

COMPLAINT - COUNT ONE 
 
The defendant(s),      , being the parent(s), guardian(s), or other person(s) having control and charge 
of a pupil under the age of 18 years, to wit,      , did commit an infraction, namely a violation of Section 
48293 of the Education Code of the State of California, in that said defendant(s) did fail to compel the 
attendance of the pupil at school, within the meaning of Education Code section 48263.5, causing the 
pupil to be truant from school within the meaning of Education Code section 48260 by being absent 
without a valid excuse three or more full days in one school year or was tardy for more than any 30-
minute period during the school day without a valid excuse on three or more occasions in one school 
year, to wit: 
 

Absent:        
Tardy:        

 
I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. 
 
 
Dated:    

     Name:           
     Attendance Supervisor,      School District 
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SEE IMPORTANT NOTICE ON THE NEXT PAGE 

PARENT/GUARDIAN’S NAME:                                                                             
                                                                          

CASE NUMBER:  
        
 

 
 
NOTICE TO THE PARENTS, GUARDIANS, OR OTHER PERSONS HAVING CONTROL OR CHARGE 
OF THE PUPIL: 
 
You are each required to attend the court hearing at the time and place set for hearing on the attached 
criminal court complaint. (Education Code § 48294.) 

 
DATE OF COURT HEARING:        
TIME OF HEARING: 8:30 AM (check in at first-floor reception before that time) 
LOCATION OF HEARING: Superior Court, 9605 Kiefer Blvd., Sacramento, California.  
 
Failure to appear may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest. 

 
You have been charged with failure to comply with compulsory attendance laws, an infraction. 
(Education Code § 48293.) 
 
Upon the motion of the school district, your case will be heard in the Juvenile Court. (Welf. & Inst. Code § 
601.4(a); Education Code § 48295.) 
 
If convicted of this offense, the court may order you to pay a fine of up to $100.00 for a first offense; up to 
$250.00 for a second offense and up to $500.00 for a third or more offense. 
 
If convicted of this offense, the court may order you to be placed in an education and counseling 
program. (Education Code § 48293.) 
 
If you believe the judicial officer assigned to hear your case is prejudiced against you, you may make a 
motion to disqualify that judicial officer pursuant to section 170.6 of the Code of Civil Procedure and the 
case will be re-assigned to another judicial officer. (Welf. & Inst. Code § 700.2.) 
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PARENT/GUARDIAN’S NAME:                                                                             
                                                                          

CASE NUMBER:  
        
 

 
FILE THIS PAGE WITH THE COURT 
DO NOT SERVE IT ON THE PARENT 

 
PROOF OF SERVICE of the date, time and place of the hearing on the Education Code section 48293 
(Failure to Comply with Compulsory Attendance Laws) complaint: 

 
 

On      , at least 24 hours before the date scheduled for arraignment in court, I served      , who is 
the parent, guardian or other person having control or charge of the minor by: 

 
  personal service   
  by first class mail       by certified mail   
  by e-mail at the address listed by the family with the school. 

 
     Name:          Title:         
 

  Interpreter needed for         language. 
 
 
On      , at least 24 hours before the date scheduled for arraignment in court, I served      , who is 
the parent, guardian or other person having control or charge of the minor by: 

 
  personal service   
  by first class mail       by certified mail   
  by e-mail at the address listed by the family with the school. 

 
     Name:          Title:         
 
 

  Interpreter needed for         language. 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and 
correct. 
 
Date: 
 
_________________________________ ___________________________________________ 
                (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)         (SIGNATURE OF DECLARANT) 


