
Answer: The Answer denies material 
allegations in the Complaint.  The Answer 
requires you to respond to each allegation of 
the Complaint. There are Judicial Council 
forms to Answer Complaints for Breach of 
Contract (PLD-C-010 ) or Personal Injury/
Property Damage/Wrongful Death (PCD-PI-
003). Any other answer would be drafted in 
“pleading format.” 

General Denial:  The General Denial (PLD-
050) contains a statement denying the truth of 
each and every allegation of the Complaint.  

A note about Affirmative Defenses: An 
affirmative defense gives a reason why you 
may have done something that was alleged. 
Affirmative defenses include, but are not 
limited to, failure to state a cause of action, 
statute of limitations, unclean hands, etc. 

If you do not bring up affirmative defenses in 
the general denial or answer, the Court 
cannot consider them at trial. 

Cost: If you appear in the action by filing a 
settlement, general denial, answer, or motion, 
these are the fees for  your “first appearance” 
in the case.  A fee waiver may be available 
based on your financial situation.   

 

 

 

I’ve been Sued.  
What are my options? 

If you were served personally (meaning 
the documents were handed to you 
and not another person), you have 30 
days from the date of service to file a 
responding document with the Court.  If 
you were served by substitute service 
(someone else in your household was 
served), you have 40 days to file a 
responding document with the Court.  

Settlement:  At any point, you may 
contact the attorney or self-represented 
party to try to settle the case. Parties 
may write up a stipulation for 
settlement. The Court encourages 
settlement at every step of the civil 
process.  

Participating in settlement 
discussions with plaintiff/counsel 
DOES NOT stop the clock on the 
need to file an responding document 
within 30/40 days of being served. 

BE ADVISED even if self-
represented parties have little or no 
legal training, they are required to 
follow all rules that govern civil  
litigation. A party representing 
themself will be treated like any 
other party and is entitled to the 
same, but no greater, consideration 
than other litigants and attorneys.  

Unlimited (more than $25k 
or non-monetary relief) $435 

Limited ($10k-25k) $370 

Limited (less than $10k) $225 

Limited (BP 6322.1(c)(1)) $181 
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Where can I get more 
information? 

The Sacramento County Public Law Library 
is an excellent resource for self-
represented litigants. Knowledgeable 
librarians can direct litigants to reference 
material, and legal staff may assist with the 
drafting of motions and pleadings in some 
cases.  
 
609 9th Street 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
Phone: (916) 874-6012 
Web: SacLaw.org 
Self-Help Appointment Screening:  
(916) 476-2731 
 

“Limited Scope 
Representation” 

Attorneys can draft responsive pleadings 
for you under “Limited Scope 
Representation.” If you do not want or 
cannot afford full representation, some 
attorneys will prepare certain documents on 
your behalf.  
 
California Bar Association 
Referral Services Directory   

Find legal assistance in the Sacramento 
Area and Northern California. 
 

tinyurl.com/25us82d5  

No Response: If you do not file a response 
(and you have not made any written agree-
ment with the other party(ies) to extend your 
time to respond), the plaintiff can file a 
“Request for Entry of Default.”  Entry of a de-
fault means you are unable to file any docu-
ments in the case and the Plaintiff wins.  The 
Plaintiff may also request entry of a “Default 
Judgment”.  Entry of a Default Judgment may 
result in wage garnishment or a levy on prop-
erty or bank accounts. Default judgments may 
also have a negative effect your credit score. 

Motion to Pay Judgment in Installments:  A 
judgment debtor in a limited civil case 
(amount demanded is $25,000 or less) to ask 
the Court for an order allowing the judgment 
to be paid in installments. This request is 
made by a formal noticed motion, and may be 
granted for good cause at any time after the 
judgment; even if the judgment was entered 
by default because the debtor never answered 
the complaint.   

Motion to Quash Service of Summons: If 
you believe you were not properly served with 
the summons and complaint, you may file this 
motion.  

Demurrer: A demurrer attacks the legal suffi-
ciency of the Complaint. For example, if you 
believe the statue of limitations of a cause of 
action has run or the plaintiff has not plead 
sufficient facts, you may file a demurrer.  

Motions may also available to stay the 
action or to strike portions of the  
complaint.   
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Hours 

Phone: (916) 874‐1421 
Email: CivilSelfHelp@Saccourt.ca.gov 
Web: www.saccourt.ca.gov 

Civil Self-Help Services 
Hall of Justice 
813 6th Street 
Room 117, First Floor 
Sacramento, CA 95814 

Hours are subject to change  
based on staff availability. 


