
Government  
Claims Act 

In most cases you are required to take 
certain steps before filing a lawsuit against a 
government entity. The Government Claims 
Act (Government Code sections 810-996.6) 
outlines what to do before you can sue a 
government entity. Submitting a claim is 
important because a lawsuit might fail if the 
claim process is not followed.   
The claims procedure is complex. If you are 
considering filing a claim, seek advice from 

an attorney with experience in claims 
against government entities.   

Time Limits to  
Submit Claims 

Submit claim within 6 months of incident for: 
 Personal injury 
 Personal property damage 
 Wrongful death 
Submit claim  within 1 year of incident for: 
 Breach of contract 
 Damage to real property (real estate) 
 Equitable estoppel (party cannot go back 

on their word) 
See Government Code sections 915-915.4 
for requirements on presenting the claim and 
giving notice. 

Claim Information  
Government Code section 910 sets forth the essential 
contents of a claim. They include: 
 The names and addresses of the claimant (you) 

and where notices are to be sent; 
 A statement of the "date, place, and other 

circumstances of the occurrence or transaction"; 
 A description of the indebtedness, obligation, 

injury, damage, or loss incurred, as far as they are 
known when the claim is presented; 

 The name of the public employee who caused the 
injury, if known.; and 

 The amount claimed if under $10,000, and if over 
$10,000 whether it would be a limited civil case.   

Check with the entity to determine whether they have 
a claim form or if you will need to create one yourself. 
The claim must be submitted to the clerk, secretary, 
auditor, or governing body of the entity. 

Procedural Steps  
Typical Steps for a 6-month claim: 
1. You present the claim. 
2. The public entity may issue a “Notice of 

Insufficiency” and give you the chance to amend 
your claim. (This is optional.) 

3. The public entity will accept or reject your timely 
claim, or return of your late claim. 

4. (If applicable) You may ask for late claim relief. 
5. If the entity rejected your claim, you can then file a 

lawsuit.  
The procedural steps for 1-year claims are the same, 
except that late claim relief is unavailable. 
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  Excluded Claims  
Some claims are exempt from the requirements 
of the Government Claims Act. Here are a few 
examples: 

 Claims against the Regents of the University 
of California. 

 Claims based on a violation of the California 
Whistleblower Protection Act. 

 Inverse condemnation claims. 

 Claims under the Revenue and Taxation 
Code.   

This list is not exhaustive. Check the Government 
Claims Act for all exceptions.  
 
Disclaimer: This Brochure is intended 
as general information only. Your case 
may have factors requiring different 
procedures or forms.  If you need 
further assistance consult a lawyer.  
 

Additional Resources 
Sacramento County Public Law Library   
                                                                    (916) 874-6012 
609 9th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814            
 Civil Self-Help Center     (916) 476-2731 

Appointments available by phone only. 
 

California Bar Association Referral Services Directory 
Find legal assistance in the Sacramento 
Area and Northern California. 
 
tinyurl.com/25us82d5   

Action By Entity 

Once you submit a claim, the government 
entity has 45 days to respond. (Government 
Code section 912.4(a).) If they do not take 
action within 45 days, the law considers the 
claim rejected.  
The entity must give written notice of its 
action or inaction on a claim. The notice will 
state that (with some exceptions) you only 
have six months from the date of hand-
delivery (or date it was put in the mail) to file 
a lawsuit with the court. (Government Code 
section 913.) 
If the entity does not comply with 
Government Code section 913, you have 2 
years from the inciting incident, instead of 
the 6 months from when notice was given. 

 

Liability of Employees 

A government entity may be held responsible 
for the negligent acts of its employees, as 
long as that person was acting in the scope 
of their employment. The claim is to be filed 
against the entity that employs the negligent 
person, not the employee individually. This 
rule also applies to independent contractors 
who are performing work for a governmental 
entity.   
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Phone: (916) 874‐1421 
Email: CivilSelfHelp@Saccourt.ca.gov 
Web: www.saccourt.ca.gov 

Civil Self-Help Services 
Hall of Justice 
813 6th Street 
Room 117, First Floor 
Sacramento, CA 95814 

Hours are subject to change  
based on staff availability. 


